The Life-world Existentials

Five fundamental life-world existentials has been identified for reflecting on human experiences:

  • lived space (spatiality)
  • lived body (corporeality)
  • lived time (temporality)
  • lived human relation (relationality or communality) and
  • lived spirit or lived meaning (spirituality)

These dimensions through which human beings experience their world impact on one another and all play a part in the way meaning is created in experience. Each individual has his own way of experiencing temporality, spatiality, corporeality, relationality and spirituality. These life-world existentials are used for both reflection and interpretation in Existential Psychotherapy.